Job Status is the indicator of whether you are trying to fill a job (open), you're temporarily stalled (on hold), you've had to give up (closed), or you've hired someone (filled). When you set a job's status to Open and the "Published" box is checked, that job is shown on your careers site. If you uncheck the "Published" box or set a job's status to On Hold, Closed or Filled, that job is removed from your careers site.
You can change the Job Status from the Job Manager page.
You can also change the Job Status from the Job Title's page itself.